Eating Vegan in Restaurants

By: Macy Jenks

Quick Tips

  1. Check if any dishes have a vegetarian or vegan symbol.

  2. Look for dishes that have vegetables, tofu, and/or fake meat.

  3. Remove meat, eggs, or dairy from a dish, if necessary.

  4. Look at the sides.

  5. If all else fails, ask the server.

Types of Restaurants


  • Noodle dishes without eggs and meat (usually you can get tofu instead)

  • Vegetable curry dishes

Watch out for fish paste and oyster sauce


  • Hummus, Baba Ghanoush

  • Falafel (most of the time it is vegan)

  • Sharing plates and salads without cheese


  • Vegetable dumplings (make sure there are no eggs in the dumpling wrap)

  • Vegetable or tofu dishes

  • Vegetable or tofu soup noodle dishes (make sure there is not meat in the broth)


  • Veggie sushi (ex. Avocado roll, cucumber roll, etc.)


  • Vegetable curries

Watch out for Cheese(paneer), Yogurt, Butter(ghee)


  • Noodles with tomato sauce (make sure they were not cooked in butter)


  • Beans and rice (make sure they were not cooked in lard)

  • Chips and guacamole or salsa

  • Vegetable tacos and burritos (ask for no cheese)

Happy Vegan Dining!